Click for free Consultation Click for free Consultation
Your Personal Injury
Lawyer for Life

How Much Insurance Do Uber and Lyft Have in Georgia?

After a car accident, people are often confused as to how much insurance Uber and Lyft have in Georgia. As Uber and Lyft have spread across the state of Georgia, there has been a corresponding rise in the number of accidents these drivers are having and the way insurance works with these can be confusing.

Here are the three insurance situations for rideshare services:

  • Situation One: A driver drives for Uber sometimes but the app is not on. In that situation, the driver is running on their own personal regular car insurance like most folks. The State of Georgia requires minimum insurance coverages of $25,000 in liability.
  • Situation Two: This is what the State refers to as Period 1. A driver has the rideshare app activated but is not connected to a fare or rider yet. The statute says: (A) The period of time a driver is logged on to the transportation network company’s digital network and available to accept a ride request until the driver is logged off…(2) During the time period defined in subparagraph (a)(5)(A) of this Code section, provides a minimum of $100,000.00 for bodily injuries to or death of all persons in any one accident with a maximum of $50,000.00 for bodily injuries to or death of one person and $50,000.00 for loss of or damage to property of others, excluding cargo, in any one accident;
  • Situation 3:  The driver has accepted a rider before, during, and after pickup. The Statute says:(B) The period of time a driver accepts a ride request on the transportation network company’s digital network until the driver completes the transaction or the ride is complete, whichever is later. (3) During the time period defined in subparagraph (a)(5)(B) of this Code section, provides a minimum of $1 million for death, personal injury, and property damage per occurrence and provides uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage of at least $1 million per incident.

Once the rider is dropped off and the ride is over, the coverage reverts to the original amount. If you have been injured while driving for Uber or Lyft or as a passenger, give us a call to analyze the options.

Contact
Us Today
visit us 345 W Hancock Ave
Athens, GA 30601
Request a free consultation
Request free consultation
Fill out the form below to receive a free initial consultation.
*FIELDS REQUIRED
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

visit us 345 W Hancock Ave
Athens, GA 30601