BBB Accredited Business Badge
Avvo Clients's Choise Award 2013 Badge - Christopher Simon Badge
Million Dollar Advocates Forum Badge
The NAtional Trial Lawyers - Top 40 under 40 Badge
Avvo Rating 10 - Christopher Simon Badge
Super Lawyers Badge
Google Reviews 5 Stars Badge
Support St. Annes Day School Badge

How Much Insurance Do Uber and Lyft Have in Georgia?

After a car accident, people are often confused as to how much insurance Uber and Lyft have in Georgia. As Uber and Lyft have spread across the state of Georgia, there has been a corresponding rise in the number of accidents these drivers are having and the way insurance works with these can be confusing.Here are the three insurance situations for rideshare services:How Much Insurance Does Uber and Lyft Have?Situation One: A driver drives for Uber sometimes but the app is not on. In that situation, the driver is running on their own personal regular car insurance like most folks. The State of Georgia requires minimum insurance coverages of $25,000 in liability.Situation Two: This is what the State refers to as Period 1. A driver has the rideshare app activated but is not connected to a fare or rider yet. The statute says: (A) The period of time a driver is logged on to the transportation network company's digital network and available to accept a ride request until the driver is logged off...(2) During the time period defined in subparagraph (a)(5)(A) of this Code section, provides a minimum of $100,000.00 for bodily injuries to or death of all persons in any one accident with a maximum of $50,000.00 for bodily injuries to or death of one person and $50,000.00 for loss of or damage to property of others, excluding cargo, in any one accident;Situation 3:  The driver has accepted a rider before, during and after pickup. The Statute says:(B) The period of time a driver accepts a ride request on the transportation network company's digital network until the driver completes the transaction or the ride is complete, whichever is later.(3) During the time period defined in subparagraph (a)(5)(B) of this Code section, provides a minimum of $1 million for death, personal injury, and property damage per occurrence and provides uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage of at least $1 million per incident.Once the rider is dropped off and the ride is over, the coverage reverts to the original amount. If you have been injured while driving for Uber or Lyft or as a passenger, give us a call to analyze the options. 
Client Reviews
★★★★★
"Chris was easy to work with and got the job done! Before he took my case he answered all my questions and clearly explained several options. He and Alicia worked quickly and efficiently to represent my interest. Overall very professional and effective legal service." John
★★★★★
"Chris was professional and even adjusted his fees based on the work he did. I hope I'm never in the position to need his services again, but if I ever am, I will be calling him again." Laurie
★★★★★
Excellent and professional a very honest and hard working lawyer! He works as fast as he can with your case and gets you the best settlement!!! I would recommend Christopher Simon to work on anyone case!!!! I am very great full for what he did for me! Thank you!" Anonymous